Information

The Pavillon Le Corbusier on Lake Zurich is considered an architectural jewel. The building was initiated by Heidi Weber, who commissioned Le Corbusier and oversaw its completion in 1967. It is the last building designed by the important architect and his only building made of steel and glass. After extensive renovation, the structure now shines in new splendor and invites visitors to take a unique architectural promenade through its various floors. Since 2019, the pavilion is run as a public museum by the Museum für Gestaltung Zürich on behalf of the City of Zurich.

Pavillon Le Corbusier, 2019, Zürich, © ZHdK
Stairs, Pavillon Le Corbusier, 2019, Zürich, © ZHdK
Roof terrace, Pavillon Le Corbusier, 2019, Zürich, © ZHdK

Pavillon Le Corbusier, Photo: © Georg Aerni

Pavillon Le Corbusier, 2019, Zürich, © ZHdK

Pavillon Le Corbusier, 2019, Zürich, © ZHdK

Pavillon Le Corbusier, 2019, Zürich, © ZHdK

Pavillon Le Corbusier, 2019, Zürich, © ZHdK

The Pavillon Le Corbusier exists thanks to the lifelong commitment of the interior designer, gallery owner and patron Heidi Weber. She convinced Le Corbusier to design this museum building in 1960. She financed its construction with her own funds as a single mother, brought the project to completion despite many difficulties and ceremoniously opened it on 15 July 1967 as the Centre Le Corbusier – Heidi Weber Museum.

Heidi Weber directed and curated the museum for 50 years. During this period, she organized numerous exhibitions to convey Le Corbusier’s work and ideas as a total work of art to a broad public.

Since 2019, the listed Pavillon Le Corbusier is operated by the Museum für Gestaltung Zürich on behalf of the City of Zurich. The city and the museum wish to thank Heidi Weber for her great cultural achievement.

Original version of the film about the creation of Pavillon Le Corbusier (1965–67)
Authors: Fredi Murer and Jürg Gasser
Production: Heidi Weber with the support of the Federal Office of Culture, 1967



Site

Pavillon Le Corbusier
Höschgasse 8
8008 Zurich

Postal address

Pavillon Le Corbusier
Höschgasse 8
Postfach
8008 Zurich

Main contact

+41 43 446 44 68
welcome@pavillon-le-corbusier.ch

Media

Simon Marius Zehnder

Head Pavillon Le Corbusier
+41 43 446 44 68
simon.zehnder@zhdk.ch

Debbie Zedi

Head of Marketing & Communications
+41 43 446 67 04
debbie.zedi@zhdk.ch

Exhibitions

A unique architectural promenade invites visitors to discover the exhibition pavilion on several floors. The museum hosts one temporary exhibition a year to commemorate the richly faceted work and radiance of this important architect. A small permanent exhibition with photographs by René Burri conveys his view of Le Corbusier's oeuvre and person.

Education

The Pavillon Le Corbusier offers a vibrant educational program that provides in-depth insights into the work of the great architect as well as inspiration and material for visitors’ own ideas and creative processes. The museum offers special programs for school classes and young children.

Events & venue hire

The Pavillon Le Corbusier offers an exclusive setting for your next event. Outside museum opening hours, the architectural jewel on the shore of Lake Zurich is available for events with up to 100 persons.

Open positions

The Pavillon Le Corbusier is operated by the Museum für Gestaltung Zürich. Job vacancies are published on the website of Zurich University of the Arts:

Newsletter

Information

Der Pavillon Le Corbusier am Zürichsee gilt als architektonisches Juwel. Es ist der letzte Bau des bedeutenden Architekten und sein einziger Bau aus Stahl und Glas. Nach umfassender Renovation erstrahlt er in neuem Glanz und bietet in den Sommermonaten eine einmalige «promenade architecturale» über mehrere Geschosse. Das Gebäude wurde von Heidi Weber initiiert, von ihr bei Le Corbusier in Auftrag gegeben und unter ihrer Bauherrschaft 1967 vollendet. Seit 2019 wird der Pavillon durch das Museum für Gestaltung Zürich im Auftrag der Stadt Zürich als öffentliches Museum geführt.

Pavillon Le Corbusier, 2019, Zürich, © ZHdK
Treppe, Pavillon Le Corbusier, 2019, Zürich, © ZHdK
Dachterrasse, Pavillon Le Corbusier, 2019, Zürich, © ZHdK

Pavillon Le Corbusier, 2019, Zürich, © Georg Aerni

Pavillon Le Corbusier, 2019, Zürich, © ZHdK

Pavillon Le Corbusier, 2019, Zürich, © ZHdK

Pavillon Le Corbusier, 2019, Zürich, © ZHdK

Pavillon Le Corbusier, 2019, Zürich, © ZHdK

Der Pavillon Le Corbusier besteht dank der Innenarchitektin, Galeristin und Mäzenin Heidi Weber. Sie hat Le Corbusier überzeugt und ihm 1960 den Auftrag für dieses Museumsgebäude erteilt. Den Bau hat sie mit eigenen Mitteln als alleinerziehende Mutter finanziert, trotz vielfältiger Schwierigkeiten realisiert und ihn am 15. Juli 1967 als Centre Le Corbusier – Heidi Weber Museum feierlich eröffnet.

Während 50 Jahren hat Heidi Weber das Museum als Direktorin und Kuratorin geführt. Unter ihrer Leitung fanden zahlreiche Ausstellungen statt, die das Werk und die Ideen Le Corbusiers als Gesamtkunstwerk einem breiten Publikum vermittelten.

Seit 2019 wird das Baumonument durch das Museum für Gestaltung Zürich im Auftrag der Stadt Zürich neu als Pavillon Le Corbusier geführt. Die Stadt und das Museum bedanken sich bei Heidi Weber für ihre grosse kulturelle Leistung.

Originalversion des Filmes über die Entstehung des Pavillon Le Corbusier (1965–67)
Autoren: Fredi Murer und Jürg Gasser
Produktion: Heidi Weber mit Unterstützung des Bundesamt für Kultur, 1967



Standort

Pavillon Le Corbusier
Höschgasse 8
8008 Zürich

Postadresse

Pavillon Le Corbusier
Höschgasse 8
Postfach
8008 Zürich

Hauptkontakt

+41 43 446 44 68
welcome@pavillon-le-corbusier.ch

Medien

Simon Marius Zehnder

Leiter Pavillon Le Corbusier
+41 43 446 44 68
simon.zehnder@zhdk.ch

Debbie Zedi

Leiterin Marketing & Kommunikation
+41 43 446 67 04
debbie.zedi@zhdk.ch

Ausstellungen

Eine einmalige «promenade architecturale» lädt über mehrere Geschosse zur Entdeckung des Ausstellungspavillons ein. Mit einer Wechselausstellung pro Jahr thematisiert das Museum das vielfältige Werk und die Strahlkraft des bedeutenden Architekten. Eine kleine Dauerausstellung mit Fotografien René Burris zeigt dessen Blick auf das Œuvre und die Person Le Corbusiers.

Vermittlung

Das Vermittlungsprogramm im Pavillon Le Corbusier ermöglicht vertiefte Einblicke in das Werk des grossen Architekten und gibt Anregungen und Material für eigene Ideen und kreative Prozesse. Für Schulklassen und Kinder & Co bietet das Museum spezielle Programme an.

Anlässe & Raummiete

Der Pavillon Le Corbusier bietet einen exklusiven Rahmen für Ihren nächsten Anlass. Ausserhalb der Museumsöffnungszeiten steht das an der Promenade des Zürichsees gelegene, architektonische Juwel für Veranstaltungen mit bis zu 100 Personen zur Verfügung.

Offene Stellen

Für den Betrieb des Pavillon Le Corbusier sorgt das Museum für Gestaltung Zürich. Seine Stellenangebote publiziert es auf der Website der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste:

Newsletter Museum für Gestaltung Zürich